Biographies of presenters

Paulo Esteves-Veríssimo is a Professor and FNR PEARL Chair at the University of Luxembourg Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication (FSTC), since fall 2014, and head of the CritiX group (Critical and Extreme Security and Dependability) at SnT, the Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust at the same University ( He is adjunct Professor of the ECE Dept., Carnegie Mellon University. Previously, he has been a Professor of the Univ. of Lisbon, member of the Board of the same university and Director of LaSIGE ( Veríssimo is Fellow of the IEEE and Fellow of the ACM, and he is associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Computers (TC - 2015---). He is currently Chair of the IFIP WG 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault-Tolerance and vice-Chair of the Steering Committee of the IEEE/IFIP DSN conference. He is currently interested in secure and dependable distributed architectures, middleware and algorithms for: resilience of large-scale systems and critical infrastructures, privacy and integrity of biomedical and blockchain data, and security and safety of real-time networked embedded systems. He is author of over 180 peer-refereed publications and co-author of 5 books. For more information, visit his Google Scholar Citations profile at:

António Casimiro is associate professor at the Department of Informatics of the University of Lisboa Faculty of Sciences (FCUL), where he joined in 1996. He has a PhD in Informatics (2003), by the University of Lisboa. He was adjunct Professor of the Carnegie Mellon Information Networking Institute between 2008 and 2011 and a lecturer at IST between 1993 and 1996. He is a member of the LASIGE research laboratory, where he leads the research line on Cyber-Physical Systems. He was the coordinator of the KARYON (FP7) and the TRONE (CMU|Portugal) projects. Previously he was involved and contributed to several national and international projects, such as HIDENETS, CORTEX, CaberNet and TACID. His research interests are on architectures, fault tolerance and adaptation in distributed and real-time embedded systems, with applications on cyber-physical systems like autonomous and cooperative vehicles or monitoring and control systems in critical infrastructures. He has more than 50 publications in international refereed journals and conferences in the areas of distributed, fault-tolerant and real-time systems. He organized several international scientific events and is regularly participating in program committees of conferences in his areas of research, such as DSN, SRDS and SAFECOMP. He led the steering committee of the national conference on informatics (INForum) between 2013 and 2015 and was the director of FCUL's IT infrastructure between 2004 and 2006. He is a member of the Scientific Council of FCUL since 2015. He is also a member of the IEEE, ACM, IFIP WG10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance, and of Ordem dos Engenheiros. For more information, visit his Google Scholar Citations profile at: